Larry Nance

Saturday’s 2009 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest will have a decidedly Suns feel to it. All-Star Saturday’s annual jamming exhibition will be judged by a cast of celebrated former Suns standouts.

Ring of Honor members and former All-Stars in their day, Kevin Johnson, Dan Majerle and Tom Chambers, will be on hand to grade the contestants’ dunks. In addition to those players, Larry Nance and Cedric Ceballos, who both took home dunk contest titles to Phoenix as Suns, will be seated in the judges’ chairs as well.

This year’s participants include defending champion Dwight Howard from the Magic, former champion Nate Robinson of New York, the Nuggets’ J.R. Smith and the fans’ choice, Rudy Fernandez of Portland. Rudy Fernandez became the first player in history to be voted in by the fans as the final contestant in the contest. Smith replaced Memphis’ Rudy Gay, who pulled out of the exhibition with a strained left hip.

If you can’t attend the event, be sure to log on to at 6 pm on Feb. 14 and text your vote to help decide who the 2009 Sprite Slam Dunk Champion should be.

comments powered by Disqus